Bowie, my ‘O’ level and The Christian Science Monitor.

David-Bowie_Chicago_2002-08-08_photoby_Adam-Bielawski

By Photobra|Adam Bielawski (Own work) via Wikimedia Commons**

Thanks to David Bowie for just how much his music meant to so many of us for so long.

One of my proudest moments as a teen was when I managed to sneak the lyrics of a song from his “Aladin Sane” album into my ‘O’ level English literature examination, using it to answer the poetry question.

I passed!

Later on, as a newcomer to the Christian Science faith at the time, it meant a lot to me to read an interview in the UK music press in which Bowie said the only newspaper he read was The Christian Science Monitor – because he felt he could trust it. My understanding is that for similar reasons the Brixton boy employed several Christian Scientists to represent him in his business affairs, one of whom I was privileged to know personally.

Philosophically and theologically I’m not a believer in reincarnation*…but I sure loved the brilliant way Bowie practiced it as an artist within the “confines” of one of the most unconfined careers rock and roll has ever known.

With news of his passing, perhaps there’s a more apropos way to respond than mourning…the Bible says of divine Soul “You have turned my mourning into dancing”.

So, in celebration of David Bowie’s creative legacy, “Let’s Dance”!


* My understanding is that we each have an immortal, unchanging, spiritual individuality we can discern and demonstrate in healing, step by step, through spiritual growth both before and after “the change called death” (Mary Baker Eddy).

** By Photobra|Adam Bielawski (Own work) [CC BY-SA 3.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0) or GFDL (http://www.gnu.org/copyleft/fdl.html)%5D, via Wikimedia Commons

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Culture and belief, Uncategorized

Author:Tony Lobl

I write and speak on spirituality from my perspective as a Christian Science practitioner. I am also an Associate Editor for the Christian Science periodicals. I studied at the University of Surrey earning a BSc Hons Degree in Modern Mathematics before the impact of spirituality on health caught my attention and re-shaped my career.

If you want to keep updated...

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

4 Comments on “Bowie, my ‘O’ level and The Christian Science Monitor.”

  1. January 11, 2016 at 3:39 pm #

    Interesting! Do you remember which UK music press to which Bowie made his comment about being a Monitor reader?

  2. January 11, 2016 at 3:57 pm #

    No. Unfortunately not. I was scratching my head trying to recall, and also thinking where I might have stashed away the comment. I haven’t come up with an answer to either yet!

  3. January 11, 2016 at 3:59 pm #

    BTW I did send it into the Monitor at the time, because they had done a series of ads based on celebrity endorsements (statesmen and business people and creatives from less “pop” avenues)…so I thought they might be interested. I think that series of ads had come to an end by then, though. But if the Monitor has my letter somewhere on file…

  4. January 11, 2016 at 4:01 pm #

    Additionally, the two music papers I read most at the time were the “New Musical Express” and “Sounds”, if that’s any help.

Let me know what you think!

