Can Prayer Take You On A Higher And Healthier Walk?

This is a quick-read version of my latex blog, “A Higher Walk to Better Health”.  You can read the full version of this article on The News Hub.

©Glowimages - model for illustrative purposes only

Did you know a half-hour stroll could positively impact everything from Alzheimer’s to obesity, from diabetes to depression, and even lower the risk of dying?

In other words, according to the University of Aston ’s Dr James Brown – speaking at the British Science Festival – you do yourself a world of good with a daily walk.

As someone who loves walking, my question is why anyone would not indulge in such a wonderful activity! But beyond that, my experience suggests walking with God – i.e. adding prayer to our promenading – can prove even more beneficial to health.

Two thousand years ago Jesus did just that and his prayer reportedly healed the sick without medication. Today, I and many others find that prayer based on an understanding of God as a dependable, divine Principle can still bring real health benefits.

For instance, a painful condition that developed in my feet over several years went from being an occasional nuisance to a constant concern. Finally, it intensified to the point where I limped with every painful step.

From many healings I’d had, I realised I needed a deeper understanding of my unbroken relationship to the Divine, because I knew such a change of perspective can transform our experience. And that’s what happened. A better way to think of strength and freedom – as spiritually sourced and constant, not fragile and materially dependent – came to mind.  And with every step I stood “porter at the door of thought” (Science and Health, by Mary Baker Eddy), prayerfully affirming that idea.

The result? Within a week the pain was gone, and hasn’t returned.

Scientific research into walking’s benefits highlights a liberating idea – that we have more influence over our health than we often realise.

But many have found prayer can take them on an even higher and healthier walk – a spiritual journey offering vibrant inner vistas pointing to a divine heritage of unwavering health.

Tags: , , , , , ,

Categories: Health, Spirituality and Society

Author:Tony Lobl

I write and speak on spirituality from my perspective as a Christian Science practitioner. I am also an Associate Editor for the Christian Science periodicals. I studied at the University of Surrey earning a BSc Hons Degree in Modern Mathematics before the impact of spirituality on health caught my attention and re-shaped my career.

If you want to keep updated...

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

2 Comments on “Can Prayer Take You On A Higher And Healthier Walk?”

  1. October 6, 2014 at 9:44 am #

    Going out now myself, for my daily walk 🙂

  2. Sandi
    October 6, 2014 at 12:41 pm #

    I too enjoy walking, and often use that walk for praying. If I can go to a pretty place – a lake or a scenic path – that’s even better. It’s a time of affirmation of everyone’s unity with the Source of all that is good. I meet people walking big dogs, little dogs, no dogs, and they are almost always responsive to a smile and a hello, which is an important part of the walk.

Let me know what you think!

