Once an addict, always an addict? It ain’t necessarily so!

My latest piece is my gambling healing in narrative form…a testimony for those unfamiliar with the language of Christian Science, if you will. This is a new publication for me, with an engaged readership, so please do share generously, if you genuinely like the piece, which has been published in MindBodyGreen under the headline: I Was Addicted To Gambling. Here’s How I Overcame It.

© Glowimages - model for illustrative purposes only

© Glowimages – model for illustrative purposes only

Here is an excerpt…

Still, it never occurred to me to ask for help. And even though I believed in the power of God’s love, neither did I think to pray about it, because religion just wasn’t my thing. As a Jewish teen, I’d refused a bar mitzvah and I reached my 20s wary of religious institutions. Systematically seeking an understanding of the divine was not a priority; in fact it wasn’t on my radar at all.

Yet despite my failure to seek a spiritual solution, one seemed to seek me.

Some time after we’d graduated, my best friend Frank and I were in a thrift store, scoping out one-of-a-kind clothes. On a bookshelf was a copy of Science and Health with Key to the Scriptures, a book by Mary Baker Eddy that Frank had been reading.

During some of our late night chats he had shared ideas from this “textbook of Christian Science”…

(Read more…!) 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Health, Spiritual healing

Author:Tony Lobl

I write and speak on spirituality from my perspective as a Christian Science practitioner. I am also an Associate Editor for the Christian Science periodicals. I studied at the University of Surrey earning a BSc Hons Degree in Modern Mathematics before the impact of spirituality on health caught my attention and re-shaped my career.

If you want to keep updated...

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Once an addict, always an addict? It ain’t necessarily so! | Gravitate Godward - September 4, 2014

    […] Once an addict, always an addict? It ain’t necessarily so! […]

  2. Once an addict, always an addict? It ain’t necessarily so! | - September 9, 2014

    […] Once an addict, always an addict? It ain’t necessarily so! […]

Let me know what you think!

