For Dementia Awareness Week…the candle that burns just as bright!

I’ve had a blog on dementia sitting at The Independent waiting to be published for over two weeks…and it has gone live on the first day of Dementia Awareness Week (hashtag #TalkDementia)! Please share this if you can, I’m hoping this can shine at least a ray of hope into the lives of some fearful and struggling hearts. It has been published as: Dementia Awareness Week: Should we keep an open mind to spiritual solutions?.

Here is an excerpt:

© Glowimages - model for illustrative purposes only

© Glowimages – model for illustrative purposes only

“Sometimes I picture myself as a candle.

I used to be a candle about eight feet tall – burning bright.

Now every day I lose a little bit of me.

Someday the candle will be very small,

But the flame will be just as bright.

The poem’s finale is a powerful plea to be regarded with unwavering respect. But it’s also an invitation to dig into the deeper question of what it is within us that would remain “as bright” if the “candle” of intellect and personality seems to melt away before our eyes.

Australian dementia sufferer Christine Bryden has done just that while chronicling her passage through the disease. The Christian former pharmaceutical worker, science publisher and civil servant talks of her dementia as “a spiritual journey towards the divine” and has said: “I believe I am much more than just my brain structure and function, which is declining daily. My creation in the divine image is as a soul capable of love, sacrifice, and hope, not as a perfect human being, in mind or body. I want you to relate to me in that way, seeing me as God sees me….”

(Read more…)

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Health, Prayer for Healing, Spirituality and Society

Author:Tony Lobl

I write and speak on spirituality from my perspective as a Christian Science practitioner. I am also an Associate Editor for the Christian Science periodicals. I studied at the University of Surrey earning a BSc Hons Degree in Modern Mathematics before the impact of spirituality on health caught my attention and re-shaped my career.

If you want to keep updated...

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Let me know what you think!

