Intuition in the practice of medicine..and in the medicine of spiritual practice

In my most recent blog on the Huffington Post UK – called Medical Mistakes and the Intuition Factor – an amazingly courageous and forthright doctor spills the beans about errors in medical practice, but touches on a quality that might make a difference. Here is an excerpt from the article.

Thinkstock/Jupiter images/Goodshoot - model for illustrative purposes only

How then can the element of “human error” be kept to a minimum?

In recounting his story of Mrs Drucker, Dr Goldman touched on a quality which he clearly felt would have made all the difference that day: the humility to trust intuition.

He recalled that in sending her home prematurely he “disregarded a little voice, deep down inside, that was trying to tell me ‘Goldman, [that’s] not a good idea, don’t do this'”.

A comment posted by another physician about her own Med School experience echoes this need to listen to that intuitive sense. “I was never warned against my inner voice during my training, just that intuition should be backed by study, sound medical evidence, and experience.”

The acknowledgment that an “inner voice” and knowledge are both viable components of health care is significant…

(Read more.)

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Health

Author:Tony Lobl

I write and speak on spirituality from my perspective as a Christian Science practitioner. I am also an Associate Editor for the Christian Science periodicals. I studied at the University of Surrey earning a BSc Hons Degree in Modern Mathematics before the impact of spirituality on health caught my attention and re-shaped my career.

If you want to keep updated...

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Let me know what you think!

