Healing prayer narratives: “Prayer and Healing” – two examples


Anna Bowness-Park

My British Columbian colleague, Christian Science practitioner Anna Bowness-Park “loves connecting with people in conversations about religion, spirituality and the role of prayer in healing”, as declares the introduction to her latest blog on Christian Science in Canada.  The excerpt from that blog below illustrates that connecting. 

For this…article on spirituality and health care, I wanted to share two stories of prayer and healing with you. Both come from the Christian tradition, but my experiences in talking with others about their healing experiences, shows that spiritual healing is by no means limited to this faith alone. It is something that is open to all to discover and use.

Healing #1 Some years ago I worked as a prison chaplain. One day while talking with another chaplain, a Mennonite pastor, we got onto the subject of healing. He told me that his wife had been healed of a long-standing illness through prayer, after her medicines had ceased to help. At some point in her prayers, he said, she had a moment of feeling an ‘unearthly love;’ a deep and profound sense of being loved, and a conscious connectedness to what she called God. And over the next few months, the illness receded gently to the point she no longer suffered from it.

Healing #2 After my youngest son was born, he was medically-diagnosed as having a congenital lung defect. As a baby, he was frequently & seriously ill, and we often took him to hospital. After nine months of this agony, I was desperate and went to see a Christian Science practitioner for help. There was something in the voice of this very loving woman that gave me the first moment of confidence and peace I had felt in months. As we talked, in a very busy hotel lobby, my sense of panic began to recede. She then shared a Biblical story, about a woman and son who were lost in the wilderness, and her son was dying due to lack of water. In the story, God ‘opened her eyes’ to a well that was right in front of her – but one she couldn’t see because of her fear, anguish and grief. Listening to her, I suddenly got what this woman was telling me – and at that moment I knew my son was healed. He never again suffered from that condition and is now a big strapping adult. (And that’s when I knew I wanted to become a Christian Science practitioner of healing.)

Thanks, Anna!  To read the whole of Anna’s blog, from which this is taken, go to the article Prayer and Healing.

Tags: , , , , ,

Categories: Healing

Author:Tony Lobl

I write and speak on spirituality from my perspective as a Christian Science practitioner. I am also an Associate Editor for the Christian Science periodicals. I studied at the University of Surrey earning a BSc Hons Degree in Modern Mathematics before the impact of spirituality on health caught my attention and re-shaped my career.

If you want to keep updated...

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Let me know what you think!

