Healing prayer narrative: does deteriorating sight need to be a “no way back” journey?

On Wednesday evenings, Christian Science churches around the world host meetings which include spontaneously shared “experiences, testimonies, and remarks on Christian Science” for anyone curious to hear these accounts.

Such experiences and testimonies of the practicality of the power of God’s love can range from the modest to the marvellous.

This blog’s weekly Wednesday focus is on what I have been calling “healing prayer narratives”, and this week three of my colleagues have posted blogs on recovery from sight problems.  Can healing narratives be contagious?  Maybe it would be a good thing if they were…! 🙂


Firstly, my antipodean counterpart, Daryl Francis, District Manager for Australia and New Zealand, writes: No two ways about it, Christian Science does heal.  A few years back my sight was restored, quite literally, through applying the principles of Christian Science. At one point I simply could not see anything in front of me – whatever I thought to look at just seemed to disappear. Let’s just say it made crossing the road a bit tricky, and reading was impossible.  The healing was rapid, though the issue tried to resurface every so often for a few months. Each time, I went back to what I knew to be true about God, and my indestructible  relationship to Him – the principles of Christian Science – and the symptoms were reversed rapidly. They lost their hold on me as my fear of them diminished. My vision has been excellent for years now.


Ken Girard – Committee on Publication for Massachusetts, USA –  writes: Christian Science healed your sight – really?

That’s a question that I’ve been asked over and over again after having told a legislator, or journalist, or radio interviewer about how I was healed of the need to wear eyeglasses.  So the next question that naturally follows is “How could this happen?”Well, I think what’s really underlying their question is “How could this take place as the result of prayer?”

And I understand that question – given that most people’s thought about healing involves traditional medicine, pain management, etc.  The idea that someone might not need to wear eyeglasses without surgery seems quite implausible. Yet that’s exactly what happened.

What did I do? I relied on the scientific principles that I’d learned in Christian Science and which I’d seen work so well before.  I saw that I could never be separated for a moment from the love of God.  And as I got a clearer understanding of the constant relationship that we all have with God – a relationship that’s imbued with health, harmony, and well-being – I suddenly felt the ever-presence of God’s love and was instantly healed.

I saw then that sight is a spiritual quality that can never diminish.  Or, as one radio interviewer suddenly exclaimed, “It’s about clarity of thought, isn’t it!”  He was right.

That healing took place 12 years ago, and my sight has remained perfect.

This kind of healing and transformation – this kind of renewal – is available to anyone who wants to explore Christian Science.

Pretty wonderful, huh!?


Christy Howard Chandler - from s9.com

My colleague Bill Scott in Washington State, USA, has tracked down a historic Christian Science healing of the blindness of renowned US artist and illustrator Howard Chandler Christy which was recorded in no less a publication than TIME magazine! You can read the details of his recovery of sight in Christian Science healed one of America’s great artists, Howard Chandler Christy, of near blindness.


Last, but not least, on spirituality.com is a narrative of a senior with blindness in one eye who chose prayer for healing instead of medical operations he was offered for a cataract and a drooping eyelid: A spiritual view restored my eyesight.

To read more Christian Science healing narratives, click here.

Or to hear a global internet version of those local “testimony” meetings featuring spontaneously shared “experiences, testimonies, and remarks on Christian Science” listen live at 7pm today (UK time) – or for 24 hours afterwards – to The Online Wednesday Meeting Broadcast of The Mother Church in Boston, Massachusetts.

Tags: , , ,

Categories: Christian Science, Prayer for Healing, Spiritual healing

Author:Tony Lobl

I write and speak on spirituality from my perspective as a Christian Science practitioner. I am also an Associate Editor for the Christian Science periodicals. I studied at the University of Surrey earning a BSc Hons Degree in Modern Mathematics before the impact of spirituality on health caught my attention and re-shaped my career.

If you want to keep updated...

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

One Comment on “Healing prayer narrative: does deteriorating sight need to be a “no way back” journey?”

  1. Susan
    March 21, 2011 at 9:37 pm #

    This is something that I have been reaching toward for some time. And this is a great article on reminding me that clarity of thought is available to me, and to anyone, right now! Thanks for this great blog article. I will continue to “see” myself clearly.

Let me know what you think!

