Leave the buggy … and adjust your thought!

Today’s blog has been written by our Assistant District Manager, Clare Harwood.

I spend a lot of my time using public transport in and around London these days. I always find it fascinating to dip in and out of people’s lives by picking up on conversations.  Some might say that this is in actual fact eavesdropping!  Well, some voices just resonate above the hustle and bustle of the tube, train or bus, and I’m interested in people!

One such conversation I overheard recently was between two young mothers.  Like me, they were waiting for a bus to arrive to take us into London. They were both busy adjusting push chairs each containing a slumbering toddler, totally oblivious to the finer ergonomics of their super-slick buggies.

The young mums were discussing the various medicines they relied on to deal with a whole range of childhood illnesses from croup, whooping cough, and sore throats to earache, sickness and fever.  You name it they covered it.

They then went on to discuss how they used ‘preventative medicines’, and compared a whole range of potions, lotions and supplements they had recently purchased. Their medicine cabinets must have been brimming!

These were very caring mums who were just trying to do the best for their children with the methods they were accustomed to. I found myself just wishing that they knew about an alternative method of health care, one that doesn’t rely on drugs and comes without any unpleasant side effects, just a natural unfolding of perfect health.

As a child I was very rarely ill and my parents quickly resolved any such ailments through their prayers for me. They were Christian Scientists and for them this form of health care was the one they chose to use when caring for my brother and me.

When I became a mother, many years later, I came to rely more and more on prayer for my two children as well.  I remembered my upbringing, and wanted them to benefit from a similar approach to health care. It seemed the most natural thing in the world to turn to a loving God for help.  On occasions I also sought the help of a Christian Science practitioner for their support through prayer.

I recall one evening when my son was about nine or 10 months old, popping into his bedroom to give him a good night kiss and cuddle.  He was sleeping soundly although there was a definite rattling sound that accompanied his breathing.  As he didn’t seem to be bothered by any of this I decided to leave him and not wake him up.

I gave him a kiss and tucked him in and then began to pray . This meant that I focused on what I knew was true about him as not only being my child, but as the child of God, as we all are.  From all that I had learned, and experienced, of Christian Science I knew with conviction that this was really no part of him at all. He was always full of energy; he loved life; he enjoyed hurtling himself around in his baby walker and he had a wonderful sense of fun.  God’s healthy, happy child was who he really was.

I focused on these thoughts before going to sleep that night.  As a mother I was naturally attuned to my children waking up if they needed help in the night, but that night I was not woken by either my son or daughter, who were normally both good at sleeping through the night. In the morning, when I went to see him, I was greeted by my son bouncing about in his cot with a big smile on his face. There was no need to take any further action, because there was no sign of the previous night’s ‘croup’, nor indeed was he ever troubled by it again.

When Christian Science is applied to a particular problem, it transforms our thoughts and this enables us to experience healing, including physical healings.

I hope that all those mums and dads out there who are at this very moment diligently adjusting their buggies, might like also to try adjusting their thoughts on health care, and consider this wonderful tried and tested approach. This blog is for all of you.

Thanks, Clare!

Tags: , , , ,

Categories: Christian Science, Prayer for Healing

Author:Tony Lobl

I write and speak on spirituality from my perspective as a Christian Science practitioner. I am also an Associate Editor for the Christian Science periodicals. I studied at the University of Surrey earning a BSc Hons Degree in Modern Mathematics before the impact of spirituality on health caught my attention and re-shaped my career.

If you want to keep updated...

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Let me know what you think!

