Smoking addiction healed! BBC Radio Guernsey features Christian Science on their daily show.

Congratulations to members of the Christian Science Society on Guernsey, in the Channel Islands.  They were approached by the BBC to be the guest group to produce a week’s worth of Guidelines on Jim Cathcart’s daily show.

The first one aired yesterday.  Today’s  two minute “thought for the day” is a terrific healing of smoking addiction.  The BBC programme is no longer available to listen to, so here is what was related:

One evening I was watching the TV and the advert came on about the woman who wanted to give up smoking. It reminded me of the time – 20 years ago – when I decided to give up. I had tried and failed on several occasions and eventually decided that there would be a “right time” and when that time came – I would know.

Well. The time was now and here I was, screaming for a cigarette and
not knowing where to turn. I finally spoke to a lady at Church who
said “Be still and know that I am God”. I must have said this phrase a
thousand times a day to begin with. She told me to KNOW that I could
trust God implicitly to help me.

Eventually, day by day, sometimes hour by hour or even minute by
minute the ache for this drug faded and finally the desire to smoke
passed away altogether. I can honestly say that I have never wanted a
cigarette AT ALL from that time to this.

I learned later that the quotation came from Psalm 46: vers 10 and
that the word “still” comes from the old Hebrew and means “let go” or
“release”. In other words relax, allow yourself to let go of your
problem and let God take care of it. This was such a powerful message
to me that I have used it in many other situations throughout my life
and have never found God wanting.

The remaining three Christian Science Guideline “thoughts” [aired] at the same time for the rest of the week.

On Sunday at about 7a.m. BBC Radio Guernsey [aired] a fifteen minute excerpt from a Christian Science church service.

“Let them give glory unto the Lord, and declare his praise in the [Channel] islands” 🙂 (Isaiah 42:12)

For those readers unfamiliar with the geography of the United Kingdom, the Channel Islands are…in the English Channel!  (But much nearer to France.)

Guernsey in relation to the UK and France

Tags: , , , , , ,

Categories: Christian Science

Author:Tony Lobl

I write and speak on spirituality from my perspective as a Christian Science practitioner. I am also an Associate Editor for the Christian Science periodicals. I studied at the University of Surrey earning a BSc Hons Degree in Modern Mathematics before the impact of spirituality on health caught my attention and re-shaped my career.

If you want to keep updated...

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Let me know what you think!

