Health fads – what can we learn from “the cool dude of road crossing”?

Today’s blog is written by our London Office Assistant District Manager, Clare Harwood.

From my kitchen window I have a great view of the comings and goings of village life! I am often struck by the variety of strategies used by animals when crossing the road in front of my home. For some it is a really big deal that does not always have a great outcome.

Our local cock pheasant will run into the middle of the road on hearing an approaching car. He then pauses, and as the car breaks, apparently experiences a major bout of indecision which results in him scuttling back to his original starting point. He doesn’t get anywhere fast.

Adorable hedgehog

The hedgehog on the other hand just rolls up into a ball in times of crisis when crossing the road. The outcome is not always encouraging and I really do feel that there is a need to go back to the drawing board with this contingency plan. The cool dude of road crossing has to be my neighbour’s dog Harry– a Heinz 52 with a tremendous zest for life. He has been trained in the art of crossing the road and has several years of practice under his collar. He stops at the roadside, assesses the situation and then trots across the road, wagging his tail, and getting on with things that matter to him. Harry makes it look so easy. Thankfully most of us have moved on to become pretty adept at crossing the road safely, but there are still many other challenges that seek our attention. At a time when so much airtime and column inches are taken up with health scares, we can sometimes feel like the characters above. How can we possibly make a decision about what to do when confronted with issues that seemingly threaten our wellbeing, when all we really want to do is get on with our lives? The list of things to avoid grows daily from cosmetics and plastic bottles, to various foodstuffs and even feeding sheep at the local Open Farm is now apparently a no go. Often these risks are highlighted and then yet more column inches are taken up with ideas on how to cope with the very information they have just passed on. This often only serves to fuel the fear and anxiety. What to do? Well you could panic like the pheasant and spend most of the time thinking about the issues involved instead of getting on with something else! You could just blindly ignore them and hope for the best like the hedgehog. Or, like Harry, you could make a decision based on something you know and trust and not make a big deal about it. We all have a choice. For me it helps to mentally label these health stories under ‘Fiction’, because what I understand as a Christian Scientist is that the stories they tell cannot affect me to the degree that I understand that there is a spiritual basis to wellbeing. That is a pretty powerful thought! It is one that is borne out by many people like me who practice and acknowledge the link between spiritual understanding and health. As a Christian Scientist, I have also experienced the misleading beliefs about my religion including the one where we don’t believe ‘bad things’ are true. We adopt the hedgehog’s approach to life! Well I can tell you when I pray about a situation I look headlong at the issue or “passing traffic”, pray to God for direction and then make the decision on what to do. It is not a blind faith but one highly attuned to my spiritual understanding of the situation. This approach to life enables all of us to get on with our lives, like Harry, without fearing that we can be affected in any way from anything seemingly beyond our control.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Categories: Christian Science, Is Drug Dependence Healthy?

Author:Tony Lobl

I write and speak on spirituality from my perspective as a Christian Science practitioner. I am also an Associate Editor for the Christian Science periodicals. I studied at the University of Surrey earning a BSc Hons Degree in Modern Mathematics before the impact of spirituality on health caught my attention and re-shaped my career.

If you want to keep updated...

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Let me know what you think!

