Healing Prayer Narrative – Alzheimer’s diagnosis reversed by doctor!

Shedding healing light each Wednesday

Wednesday is a day when Christian Science churches all around the world host meetings featuring spontaneously shared “experiences, testimonies, and remarks on Christian Science”.

That is, in branch churches of Christ, Scientist from London to Los Angeles and from Torbay to Tokyo, Christian Scientists welcome into their churches anyone who is curious to hear spontaneous accounts given of experiences – from the modest to the marvellous – of the practicality of the power of God’s love.

Here is a beautifully articulated prayer healing narrative from the Christian Science Sentinel that has been republished on www.spirituality.com

Alzheimer’s disease found not to be a one-way street –

Joan Geier frankly tells her story of not only suffering a deteriorating mental condition, but also suffering from the medicines prescribed to her.   After trying various alternatives that eventually exhausted their usefulness, the author tells of her journey into the study of Christian Science and out of the Alzheimer’s experience.  (Read “Alzheimer’s Disease Reversed”)

A favourite quote in this healing narrative –

“The following week, the group leaders asked if I would mind being reevaluated. I agreed, and I felt I would do well. On March 30—two months after my visit with the first Christian Science practitioner—I met with a doctor at New York Presbyterian Hospital. He gave me a series of tests similar to ones I’d taken over the last few years, tests I’d sometimes found so frustrating that I cried over my inabilities. This time I breezed through them, enjoying the challenge.

The doctor was almost as happy as I was with the results. He said I had done very well, and that he had given me some tests that would not ordinarily be given to a person my age. On those tests, he said, I had scored better than the average twenty-seven-year-old. He said he had never before reversed a diagnosis of Alzheimer’s disease.

The doctor and I told my husband the news that he had reversed the diagnosis. Only three times before in our 40 years of marriage had I seen tears in his eyes. This time they were tears of joy…”

For more Christian Science healing narratives, please click here.

To hear a global internet version of those local meetings featuring spontaneously shared “experiences, testimonies, and remarks on Christian Science”, you can listen live at 7pm (UK time) – or for 24 hours afterwards – to The Wednesday Online Testimony Meeting Broadcast of The Mother Church in Boston, Massachusetts.

Tags: , , , ,

Categories: Christian Science, Healing Prayer, Prayer for Healing, Spiritual healing

Author:Tony Lobl

I write and speak on spirituality from my perspective as a Christian Science practitioner. I am also an Associate Editor for the Christian Science periodicals. I studied at the University of Surrey earning a BSc Hons Degree in Modern Mathematics before the impact of spirituality on health caught my attention and re-shaped my career.

If you want to keep updated...

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

One Comment on “Healing Prayer Narrative – Alzheimer’s diagnosis reversed by doctor!”

  1. January 12, 2011 at 3:30 pm #

    What an excellent choice of healing to share with the world. The sweet tone of the writer, her honest concerns, her description of her prayers, the fellowship of her support group, her journey’s gentle steps offer hope to a world obsessed with diseases.
    You just have to love this woman. Thank you.

Let me know what you think!

