Using “God’s Name” to heal rather than hurt…

Today I just want to feature a poem-prayer that I received from a non-denominational website called Prayables by a writer called Abigail Wurdeman.  It speaks to me of the way my colleagues and I are charged to do our job as media/legislative representatives for our faith, Christian Science – i.e. “in a Christian manner”!   And it seems to me to articulate a standard for a healing, rather than a judgmental, approach to the religious zeal we can feel from coming consciously into God’s presence through prayer.

Your Name

May I honor Your Name always

as a blessing on my lips.

Your Name is not a weapon.

It is neither a catalyst for anger,

nor is it proof of my righteousness.

Your Name is the hand of kindness,

the voice of hope,

the source of all possible joy.

May I only speak it

in reverence and in love.

via Speak of God – Your Name – Prayables.

In Science and Health with Key to the Scriptures, the founder of Christian ScienceMary Baker Eddy – described two opposite faces of “zeal” in the following definition, in a chapter called Glossary. “ZEAL. The reflected animation of Life, Truth, and Love. Blind enthusiasm; mortal will.”

I appreciate this poem-prayer that reminds us to stay on the right side of zeal!

Categories: Uncategorized

Author:Tony Lobl

I write and speak on spirituality from my perspective as a Christian Science practitioner. I am also an Associate Editor for the Christian Science periodicals. I studied at the University of Surrey earning a BSc Hons Degree in Modern Mathematics before the impact of spirituality on health caught my attention and re-shaped my career.

If you want to keep updated...

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Using "God's Name" to heal rather than hurt...: -- Topsy.com - December 28, 2010

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Adam Scherr. Adam Scherr said: RT“@tonylobl: Using "God's Name" to heal rather than hurt…: http://wp.me/pKuDK-11u” […]

Let me know what you think!

