Peace and quiet at Christmas – stepping stones to healing

My Merseyside colleague, Irene Hall, has just had a weekly “Thought for the Day” published in Liverpool’s Daily Post which includes such a dear Christmas healing that I just have to share it.

SOME years ago, just before Christmas, I was up in the small hours, struggling with a heavy cold. I felt anxious about coping, but reading the Christmas story, I became aware of how quiet the night was. Not a sound. I realised that’s how Christmas actually came. In the night the Christ child was born, and the angels sang of it in the dark to the shepherds. Even the Magi  followed a star – in the night.

I realised that stillness or peace is the true sense of Christmas. I got back to sleep, the cold cleared up quickly, and I had a happy Christmas. The message has never left me. “Peace on earth” means peace deep in our hearts, refreshing us, body and soul.

Have a blessed and peaceful Christmas.

Irene Hall, Christian Science Committeeon Publication for Merseyside

If you want to think a bit more about Christmas quietude, here is an audio “Thought for the Day”, Christmas Quiet – a Daily Lift from Christian Science lecturer Kevin Graunke.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Categories: Christianity, Prayer for Healing, Spiritual healing

Author:Tony Lobl

I write and speak on spirituality from my perspective as a Christian Science practitioner. I am also an Associate Editor for the Christian Science periodicals. I studied at the University of Surrey earning a BSc Hons Degree in Modern Mathematics before the impact of spirituality on health caught my attention and re-shaped my career.

If you want to keep updated...

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Peace and quiet at Christmas – stepping stones to healing | "Oh, Lord, Please Don't Let Me Be Misunderstood" -- Topsy.com - December 24, 2010

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Tony Lobl. Tony Lobl said: Peace and quiet at Christmas – stepping stones to healing: http://wp.me/pKuDK-10t #prayer #healing #christmas […]

Let me know what you think!

