Making individual healthcare choices…even while lying in the road after a biking accident!

My Massachusetts colleague Ken Girard recently posted the following helpful response to the comment  “I thought that Christian Scientists always had to choose prayer for their healthcare!”  It contains an impressive healing of a pretty impressive biking accident!  It’s great to know that the effects of such accidents can be overcome through spiritual means.

Over the past 3 years that I’ve been working in the media and in government lawmaking, I’ve heard that comment many times.  People are really surprised to hear that Christian Scientists are always free to make their own healthcare decisions.  There’s nothing in the theology of Christian Science that says they can’t.  It’s always a personal choice.

I think it’s safe to say that everyone wants to have good health and well-being.  And I think it’s also safe to say that the only reason any of us would choose any method of healthcare would be that we have confidence in it.  We’ve experienced or seen successful outcomes.

Most Christian Scientists’ first choice is to rely on Christian Science for their healthcare for that very reason – they’ve seen how well it’s worked for themselves, their families, and so many others.

And that only makes sense, doesn’t it?

Now, you may be asking if I’ve made choices about my healthcare.  You bet!  Let me tell you about one.

I’m an avid cyclist (see my entryCycling and Christian Science”).  Well, while on a hundred-mile ride with a group of about 8 or so friends, I crashed at 35 miles per hour.  That, by the way, is a really fast speed to crash on a bicycle!

Anyway, I was a mess.  Scrapes and cuts everywhere – including a chunk of my cheek being ripped out.  And, my friends – none of whom were Christian Scientists – were certain that I had fractured my collarbone.  I’ve got to tell you that it certainly felt that way!

My buddies knew that I was a Christian Scientist.  And even though they were pretty shaken, they respected that.  They asked if I wanted them to call 911 for an ambulance to bring me to the hospital.

So there I was, lying on the side of the road, and in a lot of pain.  And I thought about what I should do.  Should I go to the hospital – certainly a reasonable choice given the seriousness of the injuries – or should I rely on Christian Science?

I chose Christian Science.  Why?  It certainly wasn’t because of any anti-medical stance or a shunning of doctors – that’s not part of Christian Science.  I appreciate anyone who is trying to heal their fellow human beings.

So why did I choose it then?  Simply because I had seen Christian Science work so well in my life before.  It was that straight forward for me.

OK.  So what was the outcome?

Nine days later – much to the surprise of all my friends – I was out on an 80-mile ride with not a hint of any problem whatsoever.  No bruises, no scratches – no scar on my cheek – and a completely healed collarbone.

That’s why I chose it.  That’s why I’ve continued to choose Christian Science. Because it delivers the goods!

Isn’t that why anyone would choose any system of healthcare?

You can check out Ken’s blog for updates from a “Christian Science in Massachusetts” perspective.  Here is Ken in action on his bike, in a brief video that relates to this blog!


Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Spiritual healing, Uncategorized

Author:Tony Lobl

I write and speak on spirituality from my perspective as a Christian Science practitioner. I am also an Associate Editor for the Christian Science periodicals. I studied at the University of Surrey earning a BSc Hons Degree in Modern Mathematics before the impact of spirituality on health caught my attention and re-shaped my career.

If you want to keep updated...

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

2 Comments on “Making individual healthcare choices…even while lying in the road after a biking accident!”

  1. graingert
    December 26, 2011 at 7:43 pm #

    You claim your “friends… were certain that (you) had fractured (your) collarbone” and then go on to say you later had “a completely healed collarbone.”

    This seems to be the biggest claim in your article but you seem to brush over it, could you elaborate on it?

    • December 26, 2011 at 9:37 pm #

      Hi Graingert,

      I’ll be happy to elaborate. Blogs, by their nature, are short.

      All my friends are currently or were former bike racers and had experienced this type of injury before–injuries which had been diagnosed as fractured collar bones (a common injury in bike racing). They looked at it and were certain that it was fractured–and as I said–it certainly felt that way. I didn’t have it diagnosed, but I was unable to move one arm/shoulder for about 5 or 6 days and the pain was very difficult. On the next day, all pain left and I had mobility again.

      My friends, who hadn’t expected to see me for another 6-8 weeks because of the severity of the accident, were shocked when I showed up at the local bike shop for a ride. They even made me take of my helmet and sunglasses where I had experienced all of that scraping and the chunk of my cheek having been ripped out because they were so amazed that there was simply no scarring whatsoever.

      As I said, 80 miles, no stiffness, complete mobility, and no fear–all at a fast speed.

      I hope that helps clarify it for you.

      Ken Girard

Let me know what you think!

