Guest Blog: Is life really too short to be peeling carrots?!

Is life in the fast lane the only option?  I recently read the following reflection called “Life’s Too Short?” by Methodist Minister and Broadcaster Reverend Tony Miles and it gave me pause for thought…about pausing more for thought and prayer.  Which is probably what it was intended to do!

Life’s Too Short?

My car was overtaken by an articulated lorry which was obviously in a hurry.  It was delivering food for a well known frozen food chain.  The slogan on the side of the container caught my eye;

“…because life’s too short to peel carrots.”

Personally I prefer fresh vegetables to those that are frozen or processed.  Yet, supermarkets are keen to meet the public’s demand for food that can be prepared in minutes.

I found myself mentally pausing on the frantic M25.  I asked myself, “Why do we so readily swallow the myth that life’s too short to peel carrots?”  Who says so?  What do we do with all the time that so called labour saving devices or ‘convenience’ products afford us?  Somehow, we don’t save time at all!  In fact, sometimes life seems more pressured than ever.  People in their eighties or nineties seemed to have more time back in the day when carrots had to be peeled.  Back then, they didn’t have motorways!

Italian Artist and Scientist, Leonardo Da Vinci once said;

“Men of lofty genius – when they are doing the least work, are the most active.”

The fable of the tortoise overtaking the hare by the ancient Greek storyteller, Aesop, also comes to mind.  Maybe today YOU could take the time to do something that others would consider life is too short to do?  In modern times, we work longer hours, travel more widely and continually feel we have to be even more productive.  Consider it radical to go against the flow and sloooowwwww down.

It’s ironic that the high tech solution to M25 traffic jams is the introduction of variable speed controls.  We’ve discovered that you can go faster, if you actually slow down!

Lord of Eternity, help me to discern what I need to take more time over today. Amen.

This reflection can be found in ‘Maybe Today’ by Tony Miles (Methodist Minister and Broadcaster), published by CWR (ISBN 978-1-85345-499-8) Copyright: Anthony D. Miles. 2009. Used with permission.

Jesus said “The kingdom of God is within you” and I have found the most vital (and wholesome) nourishment of all is the spiritual space we carve out in our day to come alive to that spiritual connection we all have to our Creator.

May your life be too rich not to peel carrots!


Tags: , , , , , ,

Categories: Christianity

Author:Tony Lobl

I write and speak on spirituality from my perspective as a Christian Science practitioner. I am also an Associate Editor for the Christian Science periodicals. I studied at the University of Surrey earning a BSc Hons Degree in Modern Mathematics before the impact of spirituality on health caught my attention and re-shaped my career.

If you want to keep updated...

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

2 Comments on “Guest Blog: Is life really too short to be peeling carrots?!”

  1. October 19, 2010 at 8:07 pm #

    I was just thinking I should get up and be more active, then I read this inspired post. Back to the couch, where I usually do my best work anyway!

  2. October 19, 2010 at 8:55 pm #

    Well as long as you are doing your “lofty genius” thing, you are entitled to, according to Leonardo!

Let me know what you think!

