If there was an X Factor contest for singing a (gentle) defence against atheism this would win…!

I found this video on YouTube, and love the lyrics (as well as the sweet way in which it is performed).   While it is an argument that probably  won’t win round too many hard-core atheists*, it certainly captures how many of us feel about the individual experiences we have had of a heart-warming divine presence that we have found compelling …

my only proof is the warmth i feel in the cold
the arms around me when im alone
my only proof is the fact that somehow i know
and i cant show you where cuz it’s in my soul…

* * * * * * * * * * * *

Admittedly as a Christian Scientist I also feel there is practical evidence of God in the healings that happen through a systematic glimpsing and grasping of His/Her nature as divine Love.   But that’s a whole other argument, for a whole other blog.

There is, however, an account of a healing in Science and Health with Key to the Scriptures which resonates with the “proof” that this song sings about, in a chapter of healing experiences which occurred just through reading the book.  This particular healing includes a beautiful snapshot of feeling that profound presence of “the infinite Unseen” – as author Mary Baker Eddy describes God in another of her books, Unity of Good – and of being transformed by it.  Here is that key part of the account!

I opened Science and Health and these words were before me, “If God were understood, instead of being merely believed, this understanding would establish health”. I saw that I must get the right understanding of God! I closed the book and with head bowed in prayer I waited with longing intensity for some answer. How long I waited I do not know, but suddenly, like a wonderful burst of sunlight after a storm, came clearly this thought, “Be still, and know that I am God.” I held my breath — deep into my hungering thought sank the infinite meaning of that “I.” All self-conceit, egotism, selfishness, everything that constitutes the mortal “I,” sank abashed out of sight. I trod, as it were, on holy ground. Words are inadequate to convey the fulness of that spiritual uplifting, but others who have had similar experiences will understand.

* If, however, you are a foot-tapping, open-minded kind of atheist – or anyone else! – who wants to purchase a countrified version of Sarah Bella’s tune, it is available on i-tunes as:

“In my soul”.

Tags: , , , ,

Categories: Prayer for Healing, Spiritual healing

Author:Tony Lobl

I write and speak on spirituality from my perspective as a Christian Science practitioner. I am also an Associate Editor for the Christian Science periodicals. I studied at the University of Surrey earning a BSc Hons Degree in Modern Mathematics before the impact of spirituality on health caught my attention and re-shaped my career.

If you want to keep updated...

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Let me know what you think!

