God is “in America” but divine Spirit is “confined to no spot”…and nor is Christian Science!

A plethora of good thoughts about God from my US colleagues this week, coincide with a significant six-part PBS (Public Broadcasting Service) series airing this week called “God in America”.

Boston-based Media Manager, Russ Gerber – whose lighter side is captured in some of the videos alongside this blog! – is writing here about a transformational moment in his relationship with God. Light it is not, but nor is it heavy.  It is a profound sharing of an experience that is central to the Christian Science faith – actually feeling God’s presence.  

Here is how Russ puts it:  “I heard only those few words, and I knew I hadn’t conjured them up myself.  Still, the message was persuasive because of the unmistakable feeling that accompanied it.  I felt comfort and what I would describe as irrefutable wisdom, all of which was conveyed to me as tenderly as any message could be.  No thunderous command, no demeaning judgment.  And yet for someone who wasn’t really a religious person it struck me with conviction that the source of this message was divine, not human.”  (Read it all, here!)

Meanwhile, my colleague Eric Nelson, from Northern California, wrote “What’s my view of God?”.   Eric, if you don’t know yet, then it’s a bit late to be trying to figure that out two years into your work as a media and legislative representative of Christian Science!

But, seriously, folks…here is Eric’s take on the subject: “So, what does my view of health care tell you about my view of God?  First and foremost, it should tell you that I feel that God cares deeply about His/Her creation; that He/She is an all-good, all-loving, always present, all-knowing, all-powerful God; and that He/She is something I can rely on in times of emotional, financial, and physical need.” (Read the entire blog here!)

Meanwhile, in “You can’t rewrite the Lord’s Prayer!” Texan Keith Womack, shared the healing of a broadcaster that harks back to his halycon days as a Christian Science lecturer, touring the world to much acclaim.  He has more recently joined the serried ranks of the movement’s media and legislative representatives…! 🙂

At the heart of his blog is this: ‘While on the air, Joey asked the topic of my lecture. I told him I had been speaking about joy and how the healing ideas in the spiritual guidebook, Science and Health with Key to the Scriptures, by Mary Baker Eddy, had helped me. He responded back, “Mary Baker Eddy, didn’t she rewrite the Lord’s Prayer?” Then we went to a commercial. During the commercial, Joey said, “I was in Los Angeles a couple years ago, and had a bad back problem. I called a Christian Science practitioner to pray for me. I was healed immediately.”’  (Read why Mary Baker Eddy didn’t rewrite the Lord’s Prayer here!)

God is in America, as the PBS series says.  During 8 years in which I lived in the United States, and travelled through it, I was impressed by the gentle, generous spirituality of so many Americans.  They were of diverse denominations and ethnicities, and far from the extremes of fundamentalism often picked out by media reporting.

The Christian Science faith I share with my US colleagues is sometimes, mistakenly portrayed as an American religion.  That is like calling Christianity an Israeli faith. Yes, a certain land, at a certain historical juncture, is the launching pad for each great faith. But the Source of true religion is above and beyond geography and history in the very heart of universal Spirit, God.   And Christian Science and its healing practice is as universal as its Source, divine Mind.  I have been privileged to read accounts of healing from every (inhabited!) continent on the globe.

As its Founder, Mary Baker Eddy, so beautifully articulated it: “God is universal; confined to no spot, defined by no dogma, appropriated by no sect. Not more to one than to all, is God demonstrable as divine Life, Truth, and Love; and His people are they that reflect Him — that reflect Love.”

Amen to that!

Tags: , , , ,

Categories: Christian Science, Christianity, Uncategorized

Author:Tony Lobl

I write and speak on spirituality from my perspective as a Christian Science practitioner. I am also an Associate Editor for the Christian Science periodicals. I studied at the University of Surrey earning a BSc Hons Degree in Modern Mathematics before the impact of spirituality on health caught my attention and re-shaped my career.

If you want to keep updated...

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Let me know what you think!

