Healing prayer narrative: Three (American) blogs and a (British) video…!

My United States colleagues have been writing up a storm about the Christian Science approach to healing.  Here are some of their blogs.

Texas: Kidney deformity > prayer > healing

I enjoy meeting people that are fired up, full of energy, and have a real story to tell. Texas is full of them. I also enjoy meeting people who’ve experienced the healing impact of prayer. Texas is full of them too. And it is doubly fun to meet up with both a firecracker and a spiritual thinker.

A few days ago, I met one such Texan, Kaye Patterson (Kaye pictured with husband, Jim). Kaye is the founder of Houston’s Mpact Consulting. During our visit together, we discussed my work in correcting misconceptions about Christian Science and her work in helping with her Christian Science Church — Seventh Church of Christ, Scientist, Houston. Kaye’s energy and love of God don’t quit. Why should they? Her life has been filled with healing. Prayer has made all the difference… (Read more)

Healing Stories From Northern California

Today’s post features the story of Susan Stillwell, a woman from Chico who was completely healed of medically diagnosed stomach cancer.

As a child, I attended a Christian Science Sunday School. However, I was frequently ill growing up and my parents called on medical doctors for help when I wasn’t well… (Read more)

C’mon!  Are you telling me that you can heal through prayer?  (Massachusetts)

I can’t tell you how many times I’ve heard that question from individuals in the media and government.  My answer?  “Well, yes, that exactly what I’m telling you!”

I understand their questioning though.  It’s often startling for people to hear that you can reliably heal and be healed through prayer.  I can see where they’re coming from.  Prayer, as some view it, is often just blind faith.  Hit or miss.  Or maybe it’s seen as a request to a fickle God – a God who dispenses healing and favors to some and harm or catastrophe to others.  (Read more)

Here is an example of how a British colleague used Christian Science when in urgent need of healing for dysentery.

Tags: , , ,

Categories: Christian Science, Prayer for Healing, Spiritual healing

Author:Tony Lobl

I write and speak on spirituality from my perspective as a Christian Science practitioner. I am also an Associate Editor for the Christian Science periodicals. I studied at the University of Surrey earning a BSc Hons Degree in Modern Mathematics before the impact of spirituality on health caught my attention and re-shaped my career.

If you want to keep updated...

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Let me know what you think!

