On the web: “Can prayer heal?” @ homemakers.com

This positive look at whether or not prayer heals is a fairly common kind of article nowadays, exploring the subject on the basis of scientific studies done.

Such articles, and the studies they comment on, are a positive sign of the times.  They show an intellectual curiosity into the question of whether or not praying for healing can make a genuine difference or not.  They pinpoint the public’s “unsatisfied…craving” for something that is “better, higher, holier, than is afforded by a material belief in a physical God and man”, as the founder of Christian Science, Mary Baker Eddy, puts it in her own book on prayer-based spiritual healing, Science and Health with Key to the Scriptures.

A particularly interesting thing about this article is the comments section which follows it.

Tags: , ,

Categories: Uncategorized

Author:Tony Lobl

I write and speak on spirituality from my perspective as a Christian Science practitioner. I am also an Associate Editor for the Christian Science periodicals. I studied at the University of Surrey earning a BSc Hons Degree in Modern Mathematics before the impact of spirituality on health caught my attention and re-shaped my career.

If you want to keep updated...

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

2 Comments on “On the web: “Can prayer heal?” @ homemakers.com”

  1. September 21, 2010 at 6:17 am #

    My name is Djoko Putranto; let me tell you about myself. I grew up in a poor family . After I graduated from high school, I had to make money just for living by selling newspapers from house to house. I had to work hard to be able to attend some courses. I had applied for jobs but was continually rejected For the next 6 (six) years, I became older and older without having enough money and with bad mental health until one day I found a book about How to get great success in life . That is a really Spiritual science I read it many times, tried to understand, practice carefully. In two months, I gradually became a totally new person. The world looked more beautiful. I would say: Life is good, life is beautiful I felt friendlier to others. For the first time someone said: You have a happy face. Finally, after less than two months I got a good job in a state bank and 6 years later I got Financial freedom I have new hobby collecting Anime art and Cute backgrounds

  2. September 21, 2010 at 10:13 am #

    Dear Djoko

    I am glad that you have found a solution-oriented approach to spirituality that works for you, as you have advertised above. The spirituality that I have been graced with, found in the Bible and explained in Mary Baker Eddy’s “Science and Health with Key to the Scriptures” is certainly solution-oriented. It takes in the whole range of human challenges, including financial worries. Its basic approach is to prove that God wants good alone for all of us as His children and then sets out to prove that through prayer that gains the consciousness and proves the practicality of that goodness. In Christian Science we see this as God, when understood properly as divine Love, being found to meet all human needs…not necessarily our material wants, but all our legitimate needs, including for shelter, food, etc.

Let me know what you think!

