What is it that makes you amazing – changing how others see you, or how you see yourself?

The following blog is by David Waters, a BBC Assistant Producer and Methodist Local Preacher.  It is reproduced with permission of its author and theMediaNet.org, who first published it.

I am trying to picture you, kind reader as you peruse these words. Lounging on a hammock between two magnificent oak trees, reading this on an iPad no doubt with the warm sun dappling through the leaves and the chatter of a babbling brook on the breeze …

OK well maybe not. If you’re anything like me you’ve probably just opened [an] email in the middle of the working day and perhaps are a little disappointed it’s not that email from your colleague you’ve been waiting for all day (go on admit it!). You have a long ‘to do’ list and a number of other windows open all demanding your attention. Perhaps another email has just pinged into your inbox and you’re struggling to resist having a quick peek. Or maybe you’re reading this much later having marked it as ‘unread’ in the hope of finding a quieter moment when you’d be in a better state of mind!

If you’ve got to this point I thank you sincerely and promise to keep it short (ish)! Truth is there are so many distractions in our world and nowhere more so than when we’re sat at a computer screen with the whole world at our fingertips. Just a few weeks ago I was sat very much like you are now (I presume) checking my hotmail account when my eye was caught by a rather colourful advert at the side of the screen. Obviously my head was turned simply by the interesting choice of font, the layout and design etc … I assure you it had absolutely nothing to do with nicely rotating pictures of rather buxom young ladies smiling appealingly at me (I promise you it was just the hotmail page!)

My heart first sank when I read the words “Big Brother Contestants”, nothing new there … it sank further when I read on “Big Brother Contestants choose MYA for their cosmetic surgery” … but it plunged to new depths when I read what MYA stood for. This was a cosmetic surgery company that prides themselves on employing their surgical skills on Big Brother Contestants and their name? “Make Yourself Amazing”.

Don’t you think that’s just tragically sad? Don’t you think that just says so much about our society? It breaks my heart when I see people lacking self worth and self-love and seeking to find it in totally the wrong place. I just wanted to cry out … changing your appearance and making the opposite sex stare at you does not make you amazing. And you can’t make yourself amazing anyway. You already are amazing because God made you amazing.

“For you created my inmost being; you knit me together in my mother’s womb. I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well.” (Psalm 139:13-14)

“But the LORD said to Samuel, “Do not consider his appearance or his height, for I have rejected him. The LORD does not look at the things man looks at. Man looks at the outward appearance, but the LORD looks at the heart.” (1 Samuel 16:7)

If you’ve been struggling with self-image or self worth recently then hear these words afresh today, let God speak them into your life. But let us all strive to live out this message to a world that so desperately needs it. God made you and God does not make mistakes. God loves you just as you are. He delights in you. You are always amazing to him.

Thanks, Dave!  To complement the beautiful Bible passages included in the article, here is a thought on this subject I find helpful, by the author of Science and Health with Key to the Scriptures, Mary Baker Eddy.

“Christians rejoice in secret beauty and bounty, hidden from the world, but known to God. Self-forgetfulness, purity, and affection are constant prayers.”

Tags: , , , , , ,

Categories: Christianity

Author:Tony Lobl

I write and speak on spirituality from my perspective as a Christian Science practitioner. I am also an Associate Editor for the Christian Science periodicals. I studied at the University of Surrey earning a BSc Hons Degree in Modern Mathematics before the impact of spirituality on health caught my attention and re-shaped my career.

If you want to keep updated...

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Let me know what you think!

