An independent evidence of the power of God to heal through the Science of the Christ

In my job of press relations for the Christian Science movement, I am often having to deal with what I call “sideswipes” against the healing practice of Christian Science, or its founder, Mary Baker Eddy.  By that I mean that the bulk of the article/broadcast has nothing to do with Christian Science but the journalist/broadcaster throws in a sentence or two which in that short space manages to seriously mis-convey the faith and/or its founder.  (I recently commented on an example of this in an Evening Standard article.)

So it is nice to come across what could be called a “positive sideswipe” in a comment in response to a Huffington Post article that takes a skeptical view on the power of “visualization” – a skepticism that Christian Scientists would share, although for different reasons.  (That will be the subject of a future blog!)  The article is called The New Spirituality, by Vic Stenger.

The person writing the comment apparently does believe in visualization and has apparently benefitted from it, which suggests he is not a member of the Christian Science church.  But he also shared the following experience of healing, which is not a form of visualization, but – as he himself says – shows that “There’s another dimension…to reality”. To the Christian Scientist, this “other dimension” is what Jesus called “the kingdom of heaven [that] is within you” and which Mary Baker Eddy describes in Science and Health with Key to the Scriptures as “the spiritual realm of the real“.  This is what is being evidenced to some degree by each healing that results from “divinely scientific prayer” which seeks to bring human thought into line with God’s perspective of His/Her perfect spiritual creation.

Here is his moving account of healing:

I have [been] healed twice just by reading a Mary Baker Eddy text, for example. On one of those instances I thought I was dying, after weeks of having an increasingly debilitating headache that finally augmented to an unbearable, excruciating pain that left me obliterated and bedridden as I awaited for death. But then I stood up, looked for the aforementioned text, and read that disease is a false belief and that G-d is, not like the anthropomorphic G-d we were taught to [believe ourselves to] be like, but something even way more grander. And as I read the pain started to fade till it disappeared, just as I finished reading the page revealing a higher level of what we consider to be “real”.

Thanks, Arturo Reaza N – and I celebrate with you that you experienced the power of God’s Word to heal, as laid out in the Bible and Science and Health.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Categories: Uncategorized

Author:Tony Lobl

I write and speak on spirituality from my perspective as a Christian Science practitioner. I am also an Associate Editor for the Christian Science periodicals. I studied at the University of Surrey earning a BSc Hons Degree in Modern Mathematics before the impact of spirituality on health caught my attention and re-shaped my career.

If you want to keep updated...

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Let me know what you think!

