Healing prayer narrative – healing of bipolar depression

On Wednesday, Christian Science churches around the world host meetings that include spontaneously shared “experiences, testimonies, and remarks on Christian Science” for anyone curious to hear these accounts. 

Such experiences and testimonies of the practicality of the power of God’s love can range from the modest to the marvellous. This blog’s weekly Wednesday focus is on what I have been calling “healing prayer narratives”…and here is an example that speaks to the concern in thought today brought to light by the willingness of Catherine Zeta-Jones to go public about her own problems with bipolar disorder.  

This healing account is taken from http://www.spirituality.com, and it is called Healed of bipolar disorder, reprinted from the March 21, 2011 issue of the Christian Science Sentinel.

EXCERPT: Many times I wanted to give up and felt I couldn’t take it anymore; in those times I called on practitioners for help. More and more, the truth began to sink in: that I reflected God, divine Mind. My mind wasn’t really in a brain that could be subject to a chemical imbalance. I focused on claiming peace, purity, and balance in my daily life, rather than looking for physical pleasure. This wasn’t a sudden process, but bit by bit I worked and prayed to get dark and fearful suggestions out of my thinking and out of my life. Daily prayer, reading the weekly Christian Science Bible Lessons, and (later on) listening to the “Your Daily Lift” podcasts (on christianscience.com) helped keep me in the Spirit…

(Read the whole article here.)

For more Christian Science healing narratives, please click here. To hear a global internet version of those local meetings featuring spontaneously shared “experiences, testimonies, and remarks on Christian Science”, you can listen live at 7pm (UK time) – or for 24 hours afterwards – to The Wednesday Online Testimony Meeting Broadcast of The Mother Church in Boston, Massachusetts.

Tags: , , , , , ,

Categories: Healing

Author:Tony Lobl

I write on spirituality and health for a diversity of online media outlets, from my perspective as a Christian Science practitioner. I have been published by the Independent, the Washington Post, the Guardian, E-Hospice, MindBodyGreen and The Christian Science Monitor and I post regularly on the Huffington Post UK and BuzzFeed. In addition to writing and broadcast appearances I enjoy engaging with journalists, academics, health professionals and government officials about the possibilities for improving health outcomes through a greater emphasis on spirituality in healthcare and social care. I've also greatly valued the many opportunities I have had to travel globally for my church and to meet people around the world. My wife Jenny and I spent 10 years in Boston, USA, before returning to London in 2002, to take on a role as the media and legislative liaison for Christian Science in the UK and the Republic of Ireland. I studied at the University of Surrey earning a BSc Hons Degree in Modern Mathematics before the impact of spirituality on health caught my attention and re-shaped my career.

If you want to keep updated...

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

2 Comments on “Healing prayer narrative – healing of bipolar depression”

  1. April 30, 2011 at 8:06 pm #

    When I was a teenager I became interested in finding solutions to human suffering. Since I was an atheist at that time, God did not seem to be a factor in those solutions.

    My interest led me to study psychology in high school. I thought this science could resolve all of humanity’s problems.

    After five years of active practice, I realized that psychology had not given me definitive answers. Then, I thought there must be something more. At that point, I began a period of spiritual searching, and finally, I left my psychology practice.

    To make a long story short, after five years of searching, I started studying Christian Science. Nowadays, I am an active Christian Scientist and I had totally forgotten how I felt when I left psychology. Thoughts and feelings I experienced at that time swam to the surface while I was reading this article, and I was healed from a hidden feeling: the guilty of abandoning patients who need help.

    This article made clear that “abandoned patient” is a myth and that God really care for each one of us constantly.

    Thank you for sharing such a valuable article!

    Eliane

  2. April 30, 2011 at 8:54 pm #

    That’s very moving, Eliane – thank you for sharing it. Your desire to help hasn’t changed, just the resources you have to bring to the task of being of service to others. I am sure that as you continue in your study and practice of Christian Science you will have many opportunities to help individuals with just such challenging conditions, but through the spiritual means progressively at your disposal. Cheers! TL

Let me know what you think!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,735 other followers

