Beyond the Ashes: batting away life’s bouncers and googlies!

Today’s blog is written by our London Office Assistant District Manager, Clare Harwood.

Cricket is something I feel very passionate about.  Being born in Yorkshire, England, many may say that it was a foregone conclusion.  As if more was needed, I attended a school in Headingley, a stone’s throw from the famous, and at times infamous, Yorkshire Cricket Club ground and the venue of many a knife-edge match.

There I watched Geoffrey Boycott get his 100th first-class century and later Ian Botham and Bob Willis help England secure the Ashes in 1981.  Over the years I’ve shared picnics, been on the edge of my seat and applauded superb ‘sixes’ and ‘wickets’ with friends and total strangers.

I have been lucky enough to witness some great test-match cricket by players from the West Indies, Australia, New Zealand, South Africa, Pakistan and India.  For me, these games were not about country against country, but instead they provided the opportunity to witness some wonderful examples of great play.

My son is a good club cricket all rounder, and thank goodness!  He understands why I tune in to Test Match Special on BBC Radio at odd hours of the day and night, to follow live commentary on five-day test matches being played all over the world!

A recent addition to the international cricket scene is the Afghanistan team, and more recently the formation of their ladies cricket team. This wonderful game, like many other sports, has helped unify especially where other forces would seek to disrupt.

To those that don’t follow cricket then I could try and explain the rules…. You have two sides, one out in the field and one in.  Each man that’s in the side that’s in goes out, and when he’s out he comes in and the next man goes in until he’s out….. but perhaps I will leave it to you to work it out for yourself.  To fully understand you need to watch a game, talk to those interested in the game, read about the game and type the word into the Google search box!

One of my other great passions is Christian Science.  It is just such a great way of experiencing life!  It is something to cherish and share and which I hold dear. I thank the founder of the First Church of Christ Scientist, Mary Baker Eddy, for her spiritual interpretation of the Scriptures, which enables any one of us to experience the world as God created it.

Like cricket, Christian Science has a set of principles that when applied enable us to witness something truly harmonious. It’s a whole new ball game! It opens up our thought to infinite possibilities where there may appear to be none – at work, at home, everywhere! It helps us to see the truer picture from a spiritual viewpoint.

Like understanding cricket Christian Science is something that is great to work out for oneself.  A good place to start is to read Science and Health with Key to the Scriptures by Mary Baker Eddy and take the time to look at some of the excellent Christian Science publications, and attend lectures on the subject in your area and ask questions!

Christian Scientists apply what they have learned to help with all types of life’s ‘bouncers’ and ‘googlies’.  At Wednesday testimony meetings, healing experiences are shared with others – the fruitage of much time spent in the practice ‘nets’!

Like cricket, Christian Science not only blesses the individual ‘player’ but also all those around them.

Which brings me to one final note to my dear friends and colleagues in Australia ….. I am not going to harp on about the results of the recent Ashes series just because England won so convincingly … but I am really looking forward to some great return matches in 2013!!

While cricket is a wonderful sport, Clare and I are mindful that the good people of Australia are dealing with the serious business of the aftermath of the floods in Queensland.  Our Australian colleagues have been giving thought and prayer to this situation, and their blogs on this are listed to the right.

Tags: , , , , , ,

Categories: Christian Science

Author:Tony Lobl

I write on spirituality and health for a diversity of online media outlets, from my perspective as a Christian Science practitioner. I have been published by the Independent, the Washington Post, the Guardian, E-Hospice, MindBodyGreen and The Christian Science Monitor and I post regularly on the Huffington Post UK and BuzzFeed. In addition to writing and broadcast appearances I enjoy engaging with journalists, academics, health professionals and government officials about the possibilities for improving health outcomes through a greater emphasis on spirituality in healthcare and social care. I've also greatly valued the many opportunities I have had to travel globally for my church and to meet people around the world. My wife Jenny and I spent 10 years in Boston, USA, before returning to London in 2002, to take on a role as the media and legislative liaison for Christian Science in the UK and the Republic of Ireland. I studied at the University of Surrey earning a BSc Hons Degree in Modern Mathematics before the impact of spirituality on health caught my attention and re-shaped my career.

If you want to keep updated...

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Beyond the Ashes: Batting away life’s bouncers and googlies! | Media and Christian Science in Queensland - February 17, 2011

    [...] While cricket is a wonderful sport, Clare and I are mindful that the good people of Australia are dealing with the serious business of the aftermath of the floods in Queensland.  Our Australian colleagues have been giving thought and prayer to this situation, and their blogs on this are listed to the right. [...]

Let me know what you think!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,549 other followers

