Christian Science – a gift to mother and child

At Christmas time, celebrating the birth of the infant Jesus, it is natural to think about children.  Even in more secular celebrations of Christmas, centred around gift-giving, children tend to be the main focus of attention.

Many parents around the world feel that Christian Science is among the greatest gifts they have been able to give to their children, because of the spiritual, moral and practical good it can help to bring out in their lives.  But Christian Science is also a gift to the mother (and father) too.  Sometimes – as in this healing prayer narrative – the very fact that a family has children at all is down to the healing practice of Christian Science.

This guest blog is by my Committee on Publication colleague from Greater Manchester, Christian Science practitioner and teacher Lesley Gort.

Christian Science was a huge help to me in bringing up my children.  As a mother of three lively boys, I am so grateful for the extra dimension of care this practice offers in the face of any challenge connected with the raising of children.  Christian Science was not a part of my life when I was growing up, since my parents had no knowledge of it, which makes me well aware of what a difference its practice makes in dealing with accidents, sickness, relationship problems and so on.

I had already proved the value of a spiritual understanding, as explained in Christian Science, of the nature of God as infinite Life and Love before any of my children made their entrance into our home.  In fact, it was because of Christian Science that they did make an entrance there, since I turned to this teaching in desperation after three miscarriages.  As I read Mary Baker Eddy’s book, Science and Health with Key to the Scriptures, for the first time, I was lifted swiftly out my bed following a miscarriage – and I was equally swiftly lifted out of pain and shattered hope.  I was discovering a totally spiritual perspective on life of which I had been ignorant up until then.  I was sure the answer to my hope for a family would come as I studied that book and it did.  God’s children, I saw, were spiritual identities, loved and cared for by their divine Father-Mother (a well-loved term for God in Christian Science) and were eternally alive and well within this infinite consciousness or Mind (another helpful term for the Creator).  I sailed through three pregnancies after that.

Having proved the worth of the teachings of Christian Science with this initial, and so precious, healing it was natural for me to turn to prayer as taught in this Science – sometimes with the help of a Christian Science practitioner – whenever one of the boys had a challenge, including a health problem.  Rapid results followed, confirming my trust in the power of God to help and heal.

On just a few occasions it felt right to call in a doctor, who was happy for the most part just to monitor the situation, because he himself was not keen to give drugs to children.  I kept up my prayers and improvement was soon evident on these occasions.  One time, one of my sons lost the tip of his finger in an accident.  The doctor cleaned and dressed it with petroleum jelly.  Within 3 weeks the finger had filled in to very nearly its old shape.  The doctor said, “I did not think it would heal that quickly – and I didn’t think he’d keep the nail!”

It’s natural for parents to want the very best for their children and to choose that best in time of need.  Over and over it was shown me that to pray regularly in the way Christian Science teaches for the wellbeing of my children and to turn to their divine Father-Mother when they were ill (not very often) – while of course caring lovingly for them on a practical level – was the very best I could do for them.   Christian Science brought them healing when necessary, but also contributed to a very healthy, sturdy childhood for each one of them.  You should see them now – strong young men, not one of them under six feet three!

Christian Science is a great blessing for children, bringing to parents the wisdom to care for them well and appropriately in all aspects of their lives.

Thanks, Lesley!


Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Christian Science, Christianity, Prayer for Healing, Spiritual healing

Author:Tony Lobl

I write on spirituality and health for a diversity of online media outlets, from my perspective as a Christian Science practitioner. I have been published by the Independent, the Washington Post, the Guardian, E-Hospice, MindBodyGreen and The Christian Science Monitor and I post regularly on the Huffington Post UK and BuzzFeed. In addition to writing and broadcast appearances I enjoy engaging with journalists, academics, health professionals and government officials about the possibilities for improving health outcomes through a greater emphasis on spirituality in healthcare and social care. I've also greatly valued the many opportunities I have had to travel globally for my church and to meet people around the world. My wife Jenny and I spent 10 years in Boston, USA, before returning to London in 2002, to take on a role as the media and legislative liaison for Christian Science in the UK and the Republic of Ireland. I studied at the University of Surrey earning a BSc Hons Degree in Modern Mathematics before the impact of spirituality on health caught my attention and re-shaped my career.

If you want to keep updated...

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Christian Science – a gift to mother and child | "Oh, Lord, Please Don't Let Me Be Misunderstood" -- Topsy.com - December 24, 2010

    [...] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Stormy Becker Falso. Stormy Becker Falso said: RT @tonylobl: Christian Science – a gift to mother and child: http://wp.me/pKuDK-ZK [...]

Let me know what you think!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,736 other followers

