Healing prayer narrative – spiritual healing of rheumatoid arthritis in the Black Country, UK

What is a prayer healing narrative? Immediately below is a link to the narrative of a prayer-based healing found on the internet.  (Click here for a more in-depth explanation of why we are highlighting it on this blog.)

UK woman healed of crippling arthritis (from BBC Black Country) – “Brenda Wickes could hardly walk two years ago. She was destined for a wheelchair: on pills, steroid injections and in constant pain. A call from a friend suggested a visit to church. She’s been free from pain and and medication since…  (Read the details in Healed by Prayer Power)

My favourite quote in this healing narrative: “As they prayed for me and as the Lord healed me, peace – such peace, that I’ve never felt before or since in the same way. He was there holding me, healing, mending me from the inside out…”

For Christian Science healing narratives, please click here.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Healing in the Media, Prayer for Healing, Spiritual healing, Uncategorized

Author:Tony Lobl

I write on spirituality and health for a diversity of online media outlets, from my perspective as a Christian Science practitioner. I have been published by the Independent, the Washington Post, the Guardian, E-Hospice, MindBodyGreen and The Christian Science Monitor and I post regularly on the Huffington Post UK and BuzzFeed. In addition to writing and broadcast appearances I enjoy engaging with journalists, academics, health professionals and government officials about the possibilities for improving health outcomes through a greater emphasis on spirituality in healthcare and social care. I've also greatly valued the many opportunities I have had to travel globally for my church and to meet people around the world. My wife Jenny and I spent 10 years in Boston, USA, before returning to London in 2002, to take on a role as the media and legislative liaison for Christian Science in the UK and the Republic of Ireland. I studied at the University of Surrey earning a BSc Hons Degree in Modern Mathematics before the impact of spirituality on health caught my attention and re-shaped my career.

If you want to keep updated...

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

3 Comments on “Healing prayer narrative – spiritual healing of rheumatoid arthritis in the Black Country, UK”

  1. peter sisson
    September 15, 2010 at 10:27 am #

    I have just shared this healing narrative with 2 family members. I would however have found it helpful if the email option [ which I used ] had provided me with the option of sending a short accompanying message .Instead I had to send separate mails explaining why I thought the family member might be interested in the post!

  2. September 15, 2010 at 9:13 pm #

    Good point, Peter. Unfortunately this is the standard WordPress provision for email. They might improve it in the future. In the meantime, another way to solve this and only have one email is to cut and paste the URL for the specific blog – i.e. if you are on the home page and scrolling through, then click on the title of the blog you want to share and that will take you to its own page, and then cut and paste the URL for that page – and then do a TinyUrl for it. (That is go to the TinyURL page and exchange the long blog URL for an itsy-bitsy one. And then copy and paste the “Tiny” URL into an email and send it along with your message. That sounds like a long process, but it should take half a minute once you get used to it. Hope that helps!

  3. Dinah
    March 9, 2012 at 9:40 am #

    I have a friend with RA and I am very grateful to be able to share a quick healing of this that is not officially Christian Science (ie through a practitioner or Mary Baker Eddy’s writings). As I study Christian Science I think my friend may think that she has to work as I do in order to be healed, so to show that God heals regardless of the title of religion is great. I believe the more of these healings we can share the more we are weakening the effects of the medical prognosis of this disease which at this time is one of incurable and barely even managable.
    Thank you.

Let me know what you think!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,736 other followers

