Talkin’ ’bout healing, and about compassion and respect in the news – USA colleagues rap with reporters!

My United States colleagues have been hitting the road to visit journalists and broadcasters in their respective States.  Here are some of the many and varied results of their two-way dialogue

Texas: Prayerful Treatment Reaches and Heals the Body

Abbie Randolph (pictured on left), a member of First, Church of Christ, Scientist, Abilene, and I met with Brian Bethel (pictured on right) at the Abilene Reporter-News building.

You can always tell when you’re in the presence of a real reporter because he or she takes notes.  Brian took notes.  Lots of ‘em… (more)

Northern California: Compassion for the Media Consumer

This past week I drove to Chico to do an interview with Lorraine Dechter, news director for KCHO (Northstate Public Radio) as part of their weekly “Health Desk” program. One question – not particularly related to health – took me by surprise.  Lorraine asked, “Why is the Christian Science church so focused on media?” (more)

National Media Manager: Enough small talk

Had your fill of trivialities? So have I. And so has a news producer I recently visited at a television station in Southern California.  She admitted what we’ve all seen, that so much of local television news is dominated by small, meaningless stories that qualify as news simply because they’re sensational or graphically visual pieces. She had some substantial story ideas in development herself, but doubted they would make it to air. One was rejected simply because in it’s final edit it ran 3-1/2 minutes instead of the usual minute-and-a-half. Not small enough, I guess… (more)

Tags: , , , , ,

Categories: Media

Author:Tony Lobl

I write on spirituality and health for a diversity of online media outlets, from my perspective as a Christian Science practitioner. I have been published by the Independent, the Washington Post, the Guardian, E-Hospice, MindBodyGreen and The Christian Science Monitor and I post regularly on the Huffington Post UK and BuzzFeed. In addition to writing and broadcast appearances I enjoy engaging with journalists, academics, health professionals and government officials about the possibilities for improving health outcomes through a greater emphasis on spirituality in healthcare and social care. I've also greatly valued the many opportunities I have had to travel globally for my church and to meet people around the world. My wife Jenny and I spent 10 years in Boston, USA, before returning to London in 2002, to take on a role as the media and legislative liaison for Christian Science in the UK and the Republic of Ireland. I studied at the University of Surrey earning a BSc Hons Degree in Modern Mathematics before the impact of spirituality on health caught my attention and re-shaped my career.

If you want to keep updated...

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

2 Comments on “Talkin’ ’bout healing, and about compassion and respect in the news – USA colleagues rap with reporters!”

  1. Philip Wylie
    August 13, 2010 at 3:19 pm #

    The thing I noticed in reading these ‘guest’ pieces is that, in some way, each visit made a difference to the lives of those involved or a deep-seated hunger for spirituality was picked up. Isn’t this what any encounter with a Christian Scientist should be about?

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Talkin’ ’bout healing, and about compassion and respect in the news – USA colleagues rap with reporters! | "Oh, Lord, Please Don't Let Me be Misunderstood" – what Christian Science is, and what it isn't! -- Topsy.com - August 13, 2010

    [...] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Tony Lobl, Tony Lobl. Tony Lobl said: Talkin' 'bout healing, and about compassion and respect in the news – USA colleagues rap with reporters!: http://wp.me/pKuDK-fx [...]

Let me know what you think!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,610 other followers

